you're reading...
Interest

Sell your bell and buy a lamp!

I received this sharp rebuke from a friend I couldn’t recognize in the thick dark. I was late for the evening service and therefore was riding clumsily in the dark with my blind bicycle. I repeatedly kept my bell ringing to avoid any accident with anyone. A fellow who was before me got irritated with the noise of my bicycle bell and shouted, “Sell your bell and buy a lamp folk!”

It was after a careful taught that I beheld the beauty of his rebuke. To him I was making unnecessary noise that I shouldn’t if I had a lamp. However, to have a lamp was the most important thing I should have considered.

Like me, many people are making unnecessary noise that they wouldn’t if they had the light of Jesus. It’s easy to be crazy about Christ without having His light within you. He said,

“Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?” — Luke 6:46

About Clifford Owusu-Gyamfi

The Life of Christ lives in me

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 286 other followers

Archives

